Los Angeles Rams Are Super Bowl Champions

Matthew Stafford led a late fourth quarter drive that was capped by a touchdown pass to Super Bowl MVP Cooper Kupp and the Los Angeles Rams are Super Bowl Champions with a 23-20 win over the Cincinnati Bengals.

The drive was not without controversy, however. A defensive holding penalty called on Bengals linebacker Logan Wilson gave the Rams a first down instead of forcing a forth and goal from the eight yard line. Four plays later, following a pass interference call, Stafford hit Kupp from one yard out.

Cincinnati had several opportunities to push the lead to two scores, but punted on four straight second half possessions before failing to convert on a fourth and one on the Bengals’ final drive.

Stafford finished 26-40 for 283 yards with three touchdowns and two interceptions. Kupp had eight receptions for 92 yards and two scores. Joe Burrow was 22-33 for 263 yards and one touchdown with no turnovers. Tee Higgins had four catches for 100 yards and two scores. Aaron Donald had two sacks.

The Rams appeared to be in complete control in the first half, jumping out to a 13-3 lead behind two Matthew Stafford touchdown passes. One to Odell Beckham Jr. and the other to Cooper Kupp. Beckham would leave the game due to a non-contact injury, and the Rams offense sputtered from that point forward.

Then Cincinnati responded with a long drive led by the running game to set up a halfback pass from Joe Mixon to Tee Higgins for a score that pulled the Bengals within three at halftime.

Cincy came out on fire to start the second half. On the first play from scrimmage after intermission, Joe Burrow found Tee Higgins for a 75 yard score to put the Bengals ahead. Rams star corner Jalen Ramsey was in coverage, and fell on the play to allow Higgins to walk into the end zone.

See more at: Reverlavie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *